home AFLW, Aussie Rules AFLW Season 2020 information rundown

AFLW Season 2020 information rundown

As we look toward Friday’s AFLW 2020 season opener, we’ve got all the details when it comes to how the season works, the conference breakdown, the finals series and more.


Once again the 14 AFLW teams are split into two conferences of seven, with each team playing each team in their conference, then two cross-conference games. This, unfortunately, means each club plays just eight of their 13 opponents during the home and away season.

The conferences are broken down as follows;

Conference A

  • Adelaide Crows
  • Brisbane Lions
  • Geelong Cats
  • Gold Coast Suns
  • Greater Western Sydney Giants
  • North Melbourne Tasmanian Kangaroos
  • Richmond Tigers

Conference B

  • Carlton Blues
  • Collingwood Magpies
  • Fremantle Dockers
  • Melbourne Demons
  • St. Kilda Saints
  • West Coast Eagles
  • Western Bulldogs

Related—The Roundup: AFLW Practice Matches


Four new teams enter the competition this year; Gold Coast, Richmond, St. Kilda and West Coast. During 2019 each of these clubs have signed players through various channels including expansion signings (from other teams already in the competition), open age signings from state-based competitions, academies, free agency and the draft. Some of the notable offseason movements include Dana Hooker & Kellie Gibson from Fremantle to West Coast, Christina Bernardi & Katie Brennan from GWS & Western Bulldogs (respectively) to Richmond, Leah Kaslar & Sam Virgo from Brisbane to Gold Coast and Kate McCarthy & Cat Phillips from Brisbane & Melbourne (respectively) to St. Kilda.

Each Round

Every Thursday clubs will announce their team of 21 for the coming round. The team of 21 is comprised of 16 on the field and a bench of five.
For a win teams receive four premiership points, a loss nets zero and a draw is two premiership points.


This year there will be a three week finals series, with the top three placed teams of each conference qualifying. They will progress as follows;

The season kicks off on Friday February 7th between Richmond and Carlton at Ikon Park, see you there!